About Team Pink Hulk

About the Writer and Performer
Valerie David

She is an actor, playwright, writer and editor. A graduate of the American Academy of Dramatic Arts, her credits include the Off-Broadway production of A Stoop on Orchard Street, Cookie in Rumors and Claudia Shear’s Blown Sideways Through Life. Films: How I Became that Jewish Guy, which premiered at a November 2015 NYC Film Festival, and Bridges and Tunnels.

Memberships include the League of Professional Theatre Women, AEA and SAG-AFTRA. She also performs improv throughout New York City with improv groups Faceplant, Cronuts and Cherub. With more than 20 years of experience as a writer and an editor, she also teaches improv to high school students at the Annual Virginia State Thespian Conference. She wrote and starred in the one-woman musical Bring On a Man!; and both cowrote and starred in the two-person show Wanted: A Few Good Men and Two-mur Humor: He’s Malignant; She’s Benign.

Her greatest accomplishment in life is being a two-time cancer survivor. Valerie was diagnosed and treated for Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma in 1999, and then for Breast Cancer in 2014 and 2015. She is thrilled that she is cancer-free and thriving. She volunteers as a motivational speaker at the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training events and Make-A-Wish Foundation. As a marathon cyclist, she cofounded Cycle of Hope, which raises money for national and international cancer organizations through bike marathons. Her most recent biking event raised almost $5,000 for the American Cancer Society and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

padraic500About the Director
Padraic Lillis

Padraic Lillis is the founding Artistic Director of The Farm Theater. He was awarded Best Direction of a Solo Show for Valerie’s The Pink Hulk solo show at Planet Connections Theatre Festivity. Padraic has also been awarded the NY IT Award for Outstanding Director for Lindsay Joy’s Rise and Fall of a Teenage Cyberqueen, Overall Excellence Award from NY International Fringe Festival for Lee Kaplan’s Bully, Best Overall Production of a Solo Show and Planet Advocate Award for his solo show addressing suicide awareness Hope You Get To Eleven or What are we going to do about Sally?, and is a member of the Indie Theater Hall of Fame. Other solo shows he has directed are Adina Taubman’s award-winning, A Line In The Sand (a documentary show about Columbine), Kelly Kinsella’s When Thoughts Attack, and How To Do A One Person Show, and he has written and performed his solo show How To Survive Crack Addiction. He is a published playwright with Dramatist Play Services and Indie Theater Now. His film Hand Over Hand, which he wrote and directed, was awarded Best Short Film at the Milan International Film Festival. Padraic was awarded the Dayton Hudson Distinguished Artist Fellowship. He is a member of Labyrinth Theater Company and a lifelong Yankee fan.


Superhero Supporters – Thank you!

Adam McGovern, Adam Thorburn, Alease Annan, Alejandra Chaparro, Alfred Mordecai, Ali Farahnakian, Alice McCalla, Alyssa Kauffman, Mr. & Mrs. Dan Bash, Mr. & Mrs. Andy James, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Roth, Ann Link, Anne Landry, Annie Lawrence, Barb Heller, Barbara Barrow, Bethann Talty, Bill Persky, Mr. & Mrs. Leon Thrane, Mr. & Mrs. Gary Fulmer, Brett Lowell, Camille Siegel, Candice Myers, Cassandra Kublinski, Celia Bressack, Celia Pilkington, Christopher Barnes, Christy Miele, Claudia Villanueva, Constance Howlett, Danielle Montezinos & Tom Harris, Mr. & Mrs. David Shamoon, Dr. & Mrs. David Emmert, Mr. & Mrs. David Mendell, David Paul, Dawn Kalil, Denise Goate, Mr. & Mrs. Ed Bond, Diane Synder, Dina Di Maio, Donnie Pursell, Mr. & Mrs. Irving Scherr, Elizabeth Reigles, Frannie Southworth, Gary Cowling, Brady Adair and Gavin Stumpman, Gayle Nadler, Helene Galek, Hershey Miller, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Brown, Mr. & Mrs. James Gartner, Jane Altman, Mr. & Mrs. Rob McDowell, Jenny Sermas, Jim Holdren, Jim Naveira, Mr. & Mrs. Joel Seiff, Mr. & Mrs. Joel Smilow, John Phillips & Andrew Resto, Jordan Auslander, Karen Modica, Kevin Kolack, Kevin Schultze, Kip Dennis, Kristina Latour, Larry Toppell, Lauren Adler & Yuval Cohen, Mr. & Mrs. Aaron Shapiro, Dr. Lilli Link, Mr. & Mrs. Scott Evans, Linda Ciccarone, Lisa Andrews, Dr. & Mrs. Nathan Zasler, Lois Dilivio, Mr. & Mrs. Greg Battaglia, Lynn Carroll, Lynn Roddy, Madeleine Goldfischer, Maria Licari & David Cohen, Mark Ruffalo, Marlene Lipman, Matthew Casarino, Maureen Ferry, Melissa Attebery, Melissa Brown, Michael Wegner, Michelle Bagwell, Monica Steuer, Nancy Slonim Aronie, Nancy Pollack, Nikolai Solonski, Noel Twitchell, Mr. & Mrs. David Stucky, Pamela Zino, Mr. & Mrs. Pleasant Hughes, Paula Ewin, Richard Murad, Dr. Richard Seamen, Rick Hardy, Robert Reed, Ross Hewitt, Roxy Kestner, Mr. & Mrs. Sam Shamoon, Saranne Rothberg, Shamika Cotton, Simcha Borenstein, Spence Cook, Stacey Luftig, Mr. & Mrs. Steve Barlow, Jennifer Adler, Maris Heller, Mr. & Mrs. Norm Adler, Thomas Brinkman, T.J. Mannix, Tova Sherman, Valerie Menzel & Gerd Ballner, Veronica Goins, Victoria Guthrie, Vivian Shpigler, Mr. & Mrs. John Lees, Yvette Somekh, Jack Dyville & David Gillam Fuller, Scott Katzman, Silvija Ozols, Sabrina Cedeno, Elizabeth Griffith, Dianna Screen, Mark and Karen Ingle, Aaron Meadow and the anonymous donors

Special thanks to:

Padraic Lillis, Maris Heller, Molly Pearson, Greg Kotis and Mark Hollmann of Urinetown the Musical, Lee Kaplan, Rich Adler of RMP-Rich Media Play, Lauren Adler, Alex Moore, Elizabeth Strauss, Paul Adams, the New Works Series, Emerging Artists Theatre Company, TADA Theatre, Planet Connections, FringePVD, Mary’s Place By The Sea, David and Ellen Galkin, Camille Siegel, Robin Rice Lichtig, Celia Bressack, Keith Randolph Smith, Debbie Jones, Jake Lipman, Brady Adair, Nancy McClernan, Lois Dilivio, Ali Farahnakian, The Peoples Improv Theater, Michelle Thomas and the 10K improv program, The Cronuts, Cherub Improv, Faceplant Improv, Dr. Carol Portlock, Stacie Cororan, Ernestine Jacobs, Dr. Bernard Kruger, Dr. Janice Marks, Dr. Kimberly Van Zee and her staff, Dr. Gabriella D’Andrea and her staff, Dr. Alice Ho and her staff, Dr. Jean Santamauro and her staff, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Dr. Natalie Stevens and her staff, Dr. Kathryn Keaty, Assembly Member Daniel O’Donnell, Callie Wilson, BGB Group, Bill Persky, Elizabeth Murray, Bridget Leicester, all my friends and family, David David, Rhoda David, Jennifer David Hincks, Pam David Stucky, Nancy Slonim Aronie, Frannie Faith, my OMEGA Family, Mikael Short, JC Sullivan, American Talent Management, LPTW, Dramatics hair salon, Earth Cafe, Jay Strong and the Sarah Lawrence SLC NY Metro Alums Playwright group

A very special thank you to Mark Ruffalo, who is a true superhero and cherished friend.

The Pink Hulk is in loving memory of my beloved Aunt Bobbie (Barbara Marks, April 3, 1937—January 7, 2016) and my dear family friend, Vivian Murad (December 3, 1945—November 16, 2013). 

Photo of Valerie: Courtesy of Lauren Adler

Lighting Designer: Alex Moore
Production Stage Manager and Sound Designer: Elizabeth Strauss
House Manager: Hazel Bonilla

Website & Design by
Mikael Short

Powered by: WordPress, Hostmonster & GoDaddy. GeneratePress Premium Theme.